Some questions after the exploit

I am not a computer scientist, so I apologize for not using the right words.

I know the problem is being addressed and fixed. I think we are all being understanding and patient. For security, this is not the time to describe the vulnerability or the attack. We know there will eventually be a comprehensive post mortem report.

It is time to recognize the orderly and steady work of the entire team to resolve the issues in the best possible way.

Once the incident is resolved, I personally would like to get answers to these questions that have been coming to me one after the other. I ask them with a lot of respect because I only want the best for Sovryn.

1. Is there a possibility that the attacker could have received inside information, by people who have worked or currently work at Sovryn? The area of attack may be very precise and targeted.

2. The vulnerability may have been flagged as a minor weakness or area for improvement by one of the audits performed? If not, is it normal that different audits have overlooked the vulnerability?

3. How long did it take from the time the attack occurred until it was discovered? Minutes, hours? I am interested to know if there are or could be created control mechanisms that warn of anomalous behavior in very short time ranges to disrupt the attack as quickly as possible. Maybe I am wrong but there were users who alerted the situation before the dapp was put into maintenance.

4. What contingency measures are in place when the dapp is put into maintenance and there are users who have for example an urgent need to access their borrowed funds, close a trade or protect a position for example. Sometimes users do not have the knowledge to interact against smart contracts. It could happen that during maintenance time there are losses due to the impossibility for users to act.

7 Likes